The Purple River

Standard
Acrylic paint on acrylic paper painting representing the evening sun setting beyond a dark pine forest as a purple coloured river bordered by black craggy rocks flows on its journey.

Acrylic paint on acrylic paper painting representing the evening sun setting beyond a dark pine forest as a purple coloured river bordered by black craggy rocks flows on its journey.

About George Hunter Tyneside Artist

Contemporary artist (paintings, drawings,sculpture, music, writer) living in Newcastle upon Tyne. I’m a self taught artist born in Ryton, but now live and works in Newcastle upon Tyne, England and have been painting seriously for the last 6 years, in which time I’ve taken part in joint exhibitions in London, Hong Kong and Newcastle. Over the same period I have won a number of photographic and painting competitions. One of my newer paintings ’The Loneliness of Depression’ has been chosen as a book cover which is hoped to be published later in the year. My view of any kind of art is that it should leave an impression, whether it is good or bad is up to the individual. I think my style of painting and drawing is about colours and shapes and how they interact. I mainly paint acrylics and sometimes oils, inks, watercolours, mixed media, aerosol spray paint plus glass paint on sheet glass. I also draw using oil and chalk pastels plus watercolour pencils. I use a variety of objects to paint such as blocks of wood, strips of paper, my fingers and of course, brushes. I always have music playing when I’m painting as it keeps me in the mood of that particular artistic piece. My paintings and drawings are a mixture of Naive Art, Remodernist Style and Outsider Art and I suppose I could be called an expressionist, experimental artist. I also produce small sculptural artworks. My influences are Van Gogh, the Fauvists such as Matisse, Derain and Vlaminck, French and Nordic Impressionists namely Monet, Cezanne, Munch, Osslund and Erichsen plus Nolde, Kalella, Klimpt, Hokusai and Hundertwasser have also had an influence on my work.. I am also an amateur musician playing mainly the Charango, Ukelele and Guitar. My art can be found on a number of websites around the world but can also be purchased also from myself at www.ghunterartist.co.uk . I also play the Charango, Guitar, Ukulele, Mandolin and a few more stringed instruments. I compose Poetry and write short stories. I am also studying Norwegian, French, German, Italian and Spanish.

Leave a Reply

